Remember paper dolls?

Well, my daughter makes her own. And it took me till now–actually, till reading the Fun Mum’s post on the topic–to realize how cool this is, rather than just getting irritated with the countless oddly-shaped little items of paper all over the house.

Fun Mum even includes a little template for these dolls, though I’m sure most of us could manage to make one of our own, if we wanted to.  This is a great idea, and now that I’m (fairly) sure my daughter won’t cut her own hair if I give her kiddie scissors and don’t supervise like the plague, it’s a wonderful, cheap, green craft.

This discovery led me, of course, to the internet. Where, of course, there are tons of resources for this kind of thing.  Check out Familycrafts.com, which has patterns for clothes as well as dolls, in sets that all work together. The Making Friends site looks more complicated, but they have good resources too. So does this Wikihow page.  And Marilee’s Paper Dolls Page.

Now that we can get magnet sheets and print those on our printers at home, this whole project can even go into the realm of more permanent projects, stuff not to just make but to play with after they are made…food for thought here!

I remember loving these so much…paper dolls were my obsession for years.  I don’t know why I was surprised that my daughter happened onto the project without any help from me…

Anyone ever tried anything like this?

Posted on March 24, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. So funny you mention this today. The girls and I are hosting a recycled art (materials) party on Saturday at our church and one of the things on my list is to print out some paper doll templates on recycled card stock for the younger guests.

    Another great site for recycled art ideas is The Craft Crow website- she gathers together all sorts of of the blogs and websites daily for interesting crafts.

    Thanks for the resources!

  2. Ooh, thanks! I love the Craft Crow!

  3. LOVE this so much!! And it IS cool! When my kids are running around and being loud and rambunctious, I remind myself that this is what I do want: creative kids who can make fun out of nothing. Thanks so much for sharing this…made my day. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Love the Moment Challenge: April 2011 | Be A Fun Mum

Leave a Reply

