Instant Pot Curried Lentils and Rice

I found another one! A healthy and completely hands-off Instant Pot recipe.

One of my favorite things to cook, especially when I’m trying to get a handle on my junk food and too-much-meat eating habits, is a nice spicy mixture of green lentils and brown rice. But I haven’t been able to find any recipes online for what I was looking for for the Instant Pot.

So, as is my way, I made something up myself. And it’s exactly what I wanted. I’ll be making this a lot. Not super-fast, honestly, but the hands-off aspect is not to be beaten.

curriedlentilsriceIngredients:

  • 1 cup green or brown lentils
  • 1 cup brown basmati rice
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2-3 cloves minced garlic
  • 2 1/2 cups water or stock
  • 3-4 tbs. curry powder (I use mostly mild and 1 tbs sweet; it depends how hot you like it!)
  • 1/3 cup coconut milk or yogurt (opt)

Put all ingredients except coconut milk into the Instant Pot, cook on Manual 22 minutes, let sit on slow release another 15-20 minutes, release pressure. If desired, stir in 1/3 cup or so coconut milk or yogurt. (You could probably make it with coconut milk subbing for some of the stock too if you wished.)

(Disclosure: whenever in a recipe I say “a bell pepper and an onion, chopped”–I mean “drop in a bag of Trader Joe’s frozen bell peppers and onions.” I buy about 10 at a time and have to replace them frequently. )

This is excellent! It will become one of my take-to-work lunch staples.

Posted on February 1, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Made for a great lunch today. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

