I can haz KHEER! (Instant Pot Indian Rice Pudding)

img_0482Most people probably go to Indian restaurants for the lovely delicious curries and entrees…weirdo that I am I mainly go for two things: the fresh-from-the-oven naan, and the kheer, a delicious soupy cardamom-spiced rice pudding. I’ve attempted to make it time and time again, and it’s never right. So I finally gave up.

Till now. When my friend Beena told me how a lot of Indian cooking not only is better in but depends on a pressure cooker, I figured it was time to try again.

It worked. Easy. Delicious.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup basmati rice
  • 4 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp cardamom powder
  • 1/3 cup sliced, chopped, or slivered pistachios or almonds (my daughter is allergic to pistachios, which is why we never to go Indian restaurants as a family)
  • 1/4 cup raisins if you want (I don’t care for them in my rice pudding)

Directions:

  1. Place rice and milk into Instant Pot
  2. Cook 20 minutes on high pressure on manual, then let pressure release naturally (about 15-20 minutes).
  3. Open lid. Stir; rice will be very soupy. Stir in sugar, cardamom, and nuts.
  4. Let cool; it will thicken as it stands

That’s it. (Although I bet a splash of rosewater would be lovely…)

This was incredibly easy–I will make this again and again. I can haz kheer! At home! On my own!

Posted on February 15, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

