It’s Too Darn Hot (or, Crockpot Woes, why did they raise the temperatures to make them cook hotter??)

Did you know that Bob Fosse, that Great and Bizarre choreographer of the sixties and seventies choreographed a small dance sequence in 1953’s Kiss Me Kate? His first on-screen choreography ever? …Sorry, strange stream of consciousness there–the musical Kiss Me Kate, to the song “Too Darn Hot” from said musical,  to my crockpot woes coming rapidly to a boil…

Pun intended.

Confession time: All these months I’ve been blogging about my deep love for my slow cookers, I have neglected to mention the frustration they have caused when they heat up too fast, boil too hot, and finish my food way ahead of when I wanted them to. I’ve always assumed I was doing something wrong, and eventually I’d figure it out and enjoy the delight of blissful slow cooking like the rest of the world.  But guess what–the rest of the world is apparently in the same boat.

Turns out, over the past 5-10 years the manufacturers of crockpots decided it was too dangerous to let food cook slowly all day, so they raised the cooking temperatures by about 20 degrees for each setting…which is to say, now “low” is more like “simmer,” and “hot” is more like “boil rapidly,” and either option has the high likelihood that your food will dry out and burn about an hour or two before your recipe is scheduled to be finished.  It means that anything you wanted to just sit there quietly and let flavors meld over a few hours will get much of its flavor boiled off, or changed, that red sauce must be babysat, hot cocoa must be closely monitored to prevent icky-scummy-skin formation, and meats must be tested periodically before they become shoe leather.

(There are ways around this…but for the moment let me just rant a bit.) This ticks me off supremely.  To me it’s another facet of our litigious society, where the manufacturers have to protect themselves from the ignorance of their customer base, and make everything as idiot-proof as possible.  Also of the fact that our food supply is fundamentally unsafe, so manufacturers have to make sure we take every possible step to cook the pathogens and unfriendly bacteria out of everything we make so that we won’t be made ill by the food produced by the guys in the flu factories. Yes, I want to be safe. Yes, I want to eat Real Food, cooked well. But dammit, I want my slow cooker back.

There, I’m done. Yes, that was sort of a stupid rant.

But, then…is there any way to reclaim the working stiff’s ability to throw ingredients into the pot in the morning and come home to a beautifully cooked dinner, which is after all the reason we love–or used to love–our crockpots?

A couple of thoughts:

  1. If you have a crockpot that’s more than 5 years old, keep it!!! Do not even think of tossing it for a new model. (Or if you are, think about asking me if I’d like to take it off your hands.)
  2. Shop for vintage crockpots on ebay or at your local thrift store
  3. Babysit your new recipes the first time you cook them, and take good notes about what you had to change to make things work correctly in whatever crockpot you have. You may need to add extra liquid or shorten cooking times significantly to make it work out.
  4. Make sure your crock is always pretty well filled. The instructions will say that it should always be “2/3-3/4” full of food when you start, but if what you’re cooking will cook down significantly, you may need to try for “completely full” at the beginning in order to be at 2/3 full by the time things cook down and the thing starts simmering busily, which the old crocks never did on low heat.
  5. Bear in mind, when cooking pieces of meat, that the meat will usually go through a stage of “too dry” before it hits “soft and tender and falling apart.” I’m sure there’s a chemistry lesson in this, but I don’t really know how it works.  But it’s why you have to cook pot roast and stew so long. Again, in a hotter crockpot, you may need to add more liquid to make sure it doesn’t all cook off (which it shouldn’t do in a closed system, but somehow it always does anyhow), but if you cook your meat long enough it should eventually hit that tender stew-y stage. Or you could just follow Michael Pollan’s suggestions and not eat so much meat.
  6. I have not tried this yet, because in my desire to not be a big old consumer-buyer-of-things-i-don’t-really-need and also to cope with my small kitchen the idea of purchasing a fourth crockpot seems a little ludicrous, but if you can kick in the extra money to buy a programmable slow cooker, either one where you can set the temperature to which you want your food cooked, or one that lets you set the cooking time precisely and then have it automatically kick down to “warm” (which is somewhere just a little cooler than the old “low”–not really hot enough in most pots to actually cook on, but when you’re cooking basic vegetable products it can last a good long time on the warm setting) after a set amount of time. My current pot only has 8-hour and 10-hour options on low, which at the current heat setting is ludicrous; beans are the only thing I cook that can take that much time in the crock. A programmable cooker also would give you the option of exploring some of the lovely breakfast recipes you can make in a slow-cooker–oatmeals and bread puddings and stuff of that nature–and let them cook overnight. (A friend just sent me a couple…I will post about them as soon as I get to try them!)

Other than that…I got nothin’. It’s a sad thing. Once a food hits boiling and sits there for a while, you lose so much of the flavor, and it’s just tragic. Mulled cider, marinara sauce, pretty much anything you make loses all subtlety of flavor after that much time at a Real Boil. And forget anything like mulled wine or glogg–the alcohol just cooks right off, and what’s the point of that?

So…anyone got any other tips? Ways of getting past this annoying quality in our crockpots? Because this is just…sad.

Posted on January 11, 2011, in cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Thanks for this post!!!! I appreciate your comment on my site.

  2. Hi Karen! I was thrilled to find your site; I live for my crockpot, weird temperatures notwithstanding. I’m working on some overnight-type breakfast recipes that involve heating already hot ingredients on “high” for an hour or so and then turning to “warm” overnight; that’s a way to do oatmeal and stuff…but I just felt so betrayed to learn about the deliberate ruining of our slow cookers’ abilities to actually COOK SLOWLY!

    Thanks for stopping by!

  3. seriously, how annoying is that??? Thanks for this article, I’ll link to it on my blog.

  4. I thought I was insane, thanks for clarifying it. I did check out an expensive one you can program, and I’ve checked out the local Goodwill stores. Might head there today. thanks again for taking the time to post this.

  5. Wow, wonderful blog structure! How long have you ever been running a blog for? you make running a blog look easy. The total look of your web site is excellent, let alone the content material!

  6. I just read where a lady put canning rings between her crockpot and the heating element. She said this way she could cook something overnight and it wouldn’t burn. Is this safe? Will it work?

  7. My crockpots are either old (so I don’t need to do anything), or they don’t have a keep warm setting. So I went out and got some timers to plug my crock pots in. I make up everything the night before, put the filled crock in the fridge. In the morning I set the timer for when I want it to start cooking & put the cold crock in the heating element. It will be warmed up a bit before the cooking starts so no damage to the crock. I come home to a wonderful meal that hasn’t overcooked, and have never ever had problems with spoiled food. I’ve got 3 crockpots and 3 timers for when I use them all. (Had other crockpots but gave them to my daughters when I got my stove that has a double oven, I now use the smaller top oven as a slow cooker since I can set that temperature low like the old model crockpots.) Anyway, timers are your friend with the newer crockpots!

  8. This made me crazy too. I started freezing the meat the meat first and putting it in the crock pot completely frozen. Chicken will come out perfectly although all the veggies or rice are mush. My pork and beef roasts are still coming out dry though.

  9. Rio, this is a brilliant idea, I’ll try it–I’ve substituted ice cubes for water before, but didn’t really think about just making sure the ingredients were all frozen to begin with…

  10. I am going to develop a solution for this. One way or another.
    Probably, I am going to use a Raspberry Pi and a submersible temperature probe, and some programming. In the end, I’ll have a Slow Cooker that never, ever, gets above 185F. I am sick of essentially BURNING meat in a slow cooker on “LOW”.

  11. I found a couple solutions to this.

    The easiest one is to find a small capacity “counter top oven”. This is one: amzn.to/2aQGnVf and I’ve come across two other small capacity ones that seem ok. The small ones work almost the same as a slow cooker, but have an actual temperature control knob, so you can set it to 180, or whatever. This is the route I’m taking.

    The second thing I’ve come across requires already having a slow-cooker and being ok with learning how to do some basic electrical work. This site is a little more “accessible” for the lay person: http://www.delcollo.us/icp/crockostat.html
    This one gets into some of the technical aspects: http://www.over-engineered.com/projects/sous-vide-pid-controller/
    And this one actually sells a kit for those who need it: http://www.nerdkits.com/

  12. How to calibrate your slow cooker. If yours runs to hot, go to a home improvement store and buy four 4 inch square ceramic tiles used for counter tops. Place them in the bottom of the heating pot below the ceramic pot. Run a test and see what the temperature is. If to cold, remove one tile and test again.

  1. Pingback: I DID IT! (Foolproof Overnight Crockpot Steel Cut Oatmeal) « It's Not Easy Being Green

  2. Pingback: My Bestie's Chili Recipe & A Spooky Story ~ The Kitchen Snob

  3. Pingback: Slow Cooker Root Beer Pulled Pork | Pinch me, I'm eating!

  4. Pingback: The Timeless Charm of Mom's Vintage Crock-Pot: A Tale of Durability and Culinary Adventures - HotDailys

  5. Pingback: The Timeless Charm of Mom’s Vintage Crock-Pot: A Tale of Durability and Culinary Adventures – Buzzy Daily

Leave a comment