Can you ever have too many purses? (recycled wool felt sweaters)

It’s funny, for someone as not-prone-to-mania about shopping as I am, I am not immune to the Cute New Purse yearning. But instead of drooling over ones I see in stores, I get more excited about creative tutorials to make them myself…

So, even though I’m still delighted with my Perfect Purse purchase from last summer, I saw this felted purse tutorial and immediately want to go try it out. (I won’t, at least not right now. Inertia is a powerful force…) Isn’t this cute? And bright and happy, in the midst of dull doldrummy winter?

Sweater felting projects are one of my hobbyhorses, though I have a tendency to not finish what I start. One of my first Green Phone Booth posts was a whole overview of the process, so if you’re interested, go check that out. (In brief: take old wool sweaters and intentionally shrink them into felt by washing and drying on high heat, then craft away with the resulting lovely warm non-ravelling felt fabric.) There are a number of crafterbloggers who focus on wool felting on their web pages, and you can probably find a bunch of them through searches…I made a very cool purse two winters ago, without a pattern, using repurposed linen pants for the lining (interior pockets already sewn by someone else!) and a felt sweater for the outer body; it’s getting sort of beat up now, or I’d post a photo…

Anyway, it’s fun, it’s cheap, and aside from the fact that you get a lot of lint in your washing machine and may end up with a whole bunch of shrunken wool sweaters taking up closet space before you’ve figured out what you want to craft with them, it’s a fairly cheap and harmless hobby. If anyone reading this does do any felting projects, please let me know or send me pictures or something!

Posted on January 12, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. That post continues to be our most viewed post at the Green Phone Booth. I have a felted sweater that I’ve been meaning to turn into mittens for the boys. Maybe I’ll get to it before winter’s over. 🙂

  2. That’s the cool thing about having some sweaters already felted…last winter I just sort of on a whim made mittens for my daughter one afternoon in about 20 minutes. She got to help, with the whole hand-tracing thing, and I had the sleeves of a sweater leftover from the quilt I made her…it’s so easy and fast when someone else has done most of the hard work for me already!

  1. Pingback: My new weight loss plan…crochet? (check out my new hoodie scarf, with instructions!!) « It's Not Easy Being Green

Leave a Reply

