Vita-Mix Potato Pancakes? No, really. (A food processor would work too)

The other day I realized I had a couple of potatoes getting ready to sprout, half an onion, and 2 eggs left in the carton. So…why not try my hand at potato pancakes? These were unbelievably easy and tasty, and I could control the amount of oil and butter that went into them, which I can’t if I buy them at the admittedly delicious Polish market down the road…

So: so I don’t lose track of what I did, this is what I did.

*****

Easy Potato Pancakes

In a Vitamix or food processor, put:

  • 2 cups or so cubed potatoes. Mine were russets, but I guess anything would work. It took 2 potatoes for 2 cups. And I don’t imagine the exact quantity makes that much difference…
  • 1/2 a medium onion, cut up to about the same size pieces as the potato. (Or more. Or less. Or a shallot or two.)

Process in the Vita-Mix on low speed (1 or 2) or in the processor with the chopping blade until it’s sort of a chunky grated-looking mess. Add:

  • 2 eggs
  • 3 or so tbs flour (I’m guessing for gluten free you could do some alternate flour like spelt or rice? Let me know if you try it…)
  • a couple good shakes each salt and pepper

Process again, for a little longer, till you’re somewhere between “grated” and “smoothie.” This part will ultimately be a matter of preference; some say to blend it completely, some say to leave the potatoes in a more grated state (but others decry this as “not potato pancakes but hash browns”–gotta love the passion of the internet), so do what you like. If you are using a Vita-Mix–important!–immediately remove your potato mixture to another bowl or pyrex glass cup or something and wash the blender container.

Place butter or oil into a large skillet and heat to about medium.

(This, again, is where you can choose your path: a proper Polish potato pancake would be cooked in about 1/2 inch sizzling oil and have lovely crispy edges. It would also have a gajillion calories. A non-stick skillet would also work, with only a teeny bit of oil, but the pancakes would lack the nice crispness. I used about 1 tbs. butter in the pan and got a kind of happy medium.)

Put spoonfuls of potato batter into the pan and spread fairly flat; let them cook on each side, without disturbing, maybe 4 minutes, till brown.

Serve with warm homemade applesauce.

*****

My picky kids actually ATE these, though they would have turned up their noses without the applesauce. If you go without too much oil, these are a really good and unprocessed-food-y meal option, and they were incredibly quick and easy. I served them with leftover mushroom soup for the grownups. This one’s a winner! And it gave me another opportunity to befriend my husband’s over-achieving blender

Posted on January 9, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

