Mince Pies for Christmas

I don’t know if it’s all this BBC I’ve been watching or what, but suddenly this Christmas I had this urge to make proper British mince pies. And then I realized proper mince pies require suet and venison and all kinds of things I can’t really bring myself to put into my Christmas baking.

And then I found a bunch of recipes for mince pies without meat…and I was off and running. Today I made my first batch of mince pies. And they are absolutely amazing. This recipe is a keeper.

I don’t remember exactly where I found the basic pre-tweaked version of this (though I think it was from an Australian woman), but this is my version of it, and it works beautifully:

FRUIT MINCE TARTS

Pulse in food processor till chunky but not pasty, just however you like it

  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 cup golden raisins
  • 1 dried cranberries
  • ¼ cup candied fruit (citron, peel, fruitcake mix, etc)
  • 1 cup almonds
  • 2 tart green apples, peeled and chopped
  • splash orange juice

Add and pulse till just blended

  • ¾ cup brown sugar
  • ½ cup brandy
  • 2 tsp. sweet spices (pumpkin pie spice, apple pie spice, or mixture of cinnamon/nutmeg/allspice/clove/ginger kinds of things)

Spoon into a large bowl

Stir in :

  • ½ cup zante currants
  • 3 tbs. melted butter

Store in fridge for at least a few days and  up to 3 months;  make pies or tarts by putting circles of pastry crust into muffin tins and filling half full with mince filling. Cover with smaller circles, stars, lattice, or other shapes, or leave uncovered. Alternatively, make a “rustic pie” by rolling out a round pie crust, spreading mince filling in crust leaving 3 or so inches around the edges; fold the crust into the center.

Bake at 400 20 minutes or so for mini-tarts,  30 minutes for full-sized muffin tarts, and maybe 35-40 minutes for rustic pie, or till crusts brown.

Posted on December 12, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

