Really Easy Yeast Bread (Sally Lunn Bread?)

Okay, I ran across this recipe for a “batter bread” using yeast dough that’s not thick enough to knead or anything…and I couldn’t resist trying it. It’s called Sally Lunn bread, and there are dozens of recipes, but the one I used is here.

Verdict: It was easy, pretty quick (about two hours beginning to end), low maintenance, not messy, and really yummy. It’s more cake-like than bread-like when all is said and done, and I should have added more salt (I…forgot. Bread needs salt. It does.). Real butter instead of my coconut oil substitution would also probably make it yummier…but all in all it was good! And ridiculously easy–I’d totally recommend this one to anyone with anxiety over using yeast. I don’t think it’s possible to screw this one up, really.

Here’s my version, with my adaptations:

Sally Lunn Bread

Ingredients

  • 1 C. lukewarm milk
  • 1/2 cup combined coconut oil and neutral oil, melted. (Or butter.)
  • 1/4 C. sugar (or honey)
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1 pkg. dry yeast
  • 1/4 C. warm water
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups unbleached flour
  • 1 1/2 C. white whole wheat flour

Instructions

  • Stir the yeast into the warm water and let it stand for 5 minutes to dissolve.
  • Mix the milk, oils, sugar and salt in a large bowl; beat in the eggs. Test to make sure it’s lukewarm. Add the dissolved yeast to the first mixture and beat vigorously.
  • Gradually add the flour. Cover and let rise for about an hour in a warm place until about double in bulk. Spoon the mixture into a buttered loaf pan. Preheat oven to 350. Bake for 50 minutes.

Seriously, not bad at all. Next time I’ll sub honey for the sugar and maybe add some spices.

The next one I want to try is this one-hour sandwich bread

Posted on March 30, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

