Product Review: Tints of Nature Hair Color

So I decided that, since I’m heading back to the Land of the Really Young Grad Student early next week, I was ready to get rid of the Bride of Frankenstripe at my right temple and her many silvery sisters all over my head.  But I didn’t want to use the heavy duty scary-chemical dyes you either get at the salon (for really expensive) or over the counter (for cheap).

In the past I’ve used the temporary color stuff that washes out in a month or two…but that’s pretty scary too, really, and I’ve never been entirely happy with it. And once it washes out, the hair’s consistency is altered so that if I use it again, it starts to dry out and get all straw-y and…well, anyway, I don’t like it.

So yesterday, for the first time, I tried a permanent color from Whole Foods, one that’s supposed to be safer than the others and have less scary ingredients.  I’d found some online  reviews for Tints of Nature color, so I got myself a box of Natural Medium Brown and gave it a try.

It takes a lot longer to process than the “standard” hair colors, 30-40 minutes instead of 10-15. And the end result didn’t leave my hair the kind of unbelievably silky-conditioned that the stuff I’d used before did. Neither of those charactistics particularly bothered me, though–I can spare the extra 20 minutes, and the uber-silkiness seemed sort of faux anyhow. I’ll condition it well today and see how it does.

The color–I have to say, it looks great. Absolutely natural, very even, and the kind of subtle that means no one is actually noticing that anything’s changed, even my hubby. (When I showed him the former Bridestreak, he said, “Okay, wow, I thought something looked a little different, but I couldn’t put my finger on what!”) I’m not sure I’d want to go to any of the brighter colors; I have also read in various online reviews (not specifically Tints of Nature) that most of the more-natural-less-chemical hair colors have problems when you go to the reds and golds, and that they fade or brass more quickly than the conventional colors. (Not all of the reviewers agree; some seem very happy with their redder colors…)

So…given the number of icky chemical products in most hair colors, I’d highly recommend giving this one a try!

Posted on September 20, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

