CSA: the second installment

Okay, the next box from our CSA arrived a few days ago: this time I recognized everything, which was nice; no frantic internet searches for “what the hell is tatsoi” and such. (Tatsoi is the leafy thing I mistook for baby spinach. Who knew? It was still yummy.)

This week I have the luxury of actually cooking, which is a nice change, so I’m working through it much more slowly: here’s what I’ve done so far:

  • Fresh Basil Pesto: we got another bunch of lovely fresh genovese basil; this time I had the time to make it into a nice cup or so of pesto sauce. Yumm. (I discovered the next day that it’s also lovely as part of a cheese sandwich…spread a little pesto on the bread, put a nice slice of cheese (I used havarti) on it and stick it in the toaster oven for a couple of minutes. Omm nom nom…)
  • Sauteed zucchini and onion: The night we had the pesto pasta I cut up one of the sweet onions and a zucchini, both from the box, and sauteed them in a little olive oil and garlic, and then at the end dropped in about a tablespoon of the fresh pesto and gave it all a stir. Lovely. My husband and I mixed it with the pesto pasta, and it was a really nice meal, but you wouldn’t have to add pasta at all, really. (Mmm, I wonder if they’ll give us any spaghetti squash down the line?)
  • Green salads: Unexciting but lovely–two more heads of lettuce, more scallions, cut up cucumber or sprinkling of roasted beets or whatever.
  • Roasted beets: Another motherlode/load of beets. I roasted these quickly, and we’re chowing down on them in salads or just munching through the day. This time there were beets of different colors; I had no idea they came in all these shades. (I like the golden ones best!)
  • The ever-popular cucumber sticks: These are a no-brainer; I know there are tons of great cuke recipes out there (I think pico de gallo, that I posted on a couple of days ago, would work with cukes instead of tomatoes, actually!), but delicious garden-fresh cucumbers are one of the few veggies my kids will actually eat, and my husband and I love them too, so we’re gorging while the gorging’s good, you know?
  • Easy pico de gallo: I couldn’t believe how easy and tasty this was, so much so that it got its own blog post. It took maybe 4 minutes total to make, and it was so much cheaper than the lovely stuff you get at Whole Foods for maybe $6 a container.
  • Kale: Okay, I still don’t love kale. The kale chips were a cool novelty, and I highly recommend trying them (it’s just so weird that it even works!), but I don’t love them. I suspect any kale and other such veggies that continue to show up in the box will be blanched and frozen for winter soups. Which is fine by me.

So far the CSA is being an absolute dream-come-true; it’s forcing us to eat more veggies than we otherwise would, and even if a lot of it only gets frozen for wintertime, that’s that many veggies we won’t have to be buying come winter. Loving this!

Posted on July 15, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi I followed a link from Angelic Organics to your blog and was reading about how you used your veggies. 🙂 I have a good kale recipe if you’re interested: Heat 1 T olive oil in heavy large skillet over medium heat. Add 1/2 cup chopped onion and sauté until soft. Stir in 1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika. Add 1 bunch chopped kale (remove stems first). It will overflow the pan at first but it cooks down. Sauté until heated through and wilted, about 4 minutes, turning over with tongs for even cooking. Season to taste with salt and pepper and more smoked paprika, if desired. It’s so delicious. You can get smoked paprika at: http://www.thespicehouse.com/spices/spanish-smoked-sweet-paprika-pimenton-de-la-vera-dulce#content

    I hope you like this dish!

    Helen
    Glenview

  2. Ooh, thank you! Do you think it would work with chard the same way? (And I don’t have smoked paprika, but I have some really good Hungarian stuff that I bet would also be delicious…)

Leave a Reply

