Super-easy pico de gallo

Last night with the I-don’t-feel-like-cooking chicken tacos I made for dinner, I whipped up a batch of super-easy fresh salsa. This week in our CSA box we’d gotten a bunch of fresh cilantro as well as some onions; no tomatoes yet, but I bought  one from the store because I wanted to try this. (It was advertised as being a “regional” tomato. As opposed to “local,” I guess. Which I surmise is grocery store for “not from Costa Rica.”)

We had chicken tacos for dinner, and I wanted a condiment. This was so easy

Easy Quick Pico de Gallo

Mix together:

  • 1/2 medium tomato, chopped (I bet half a cucumber could substitute, for a light green salsa; I tried this a few summers ago when my cucumber patch went nuts.)
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • jalapeno or other pepper, seeded and chopped (I didn’t have one of these, so I just left it out and it was still yummy!)
  • handful cilantro leaves, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder (no salt)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin powder
  • sprinkle garlic powder
  • a few drops (to taste) jalapeno pepper or other hot sauce

That’s all there is to it. Took maybe 4 minutes. Awesome taco condiment.

The moral of the story, where summer vegetables are concerned: It’s hard to screw up. Chop up some veggies, leave raw or saute, chop up an herb of choice, mix it all together, and eat it. Dill with cucumbers.  Cilantro with tomatoes or cukes or pretty much anything. Basil, ditto. Fresh tarragon is great on sauteed mushrooms. Cilantro is better raw; basil works either way. When in doubt, sprinkle a little garlic powder and possibly black pepper onto whatever it is.

Herbs rock. So does our awesome CSA.

Posted on July 13, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

