Yet another snack cake: Leftover Oatmeal Applesauce Cake

Okay, here’s another one–first it was the pancakes, tonight it was a new snack cake.  Also moist, also delicious, amazing.

Check this one out:

Leftover Oatmeal Applesauce (or pumpkin or banana) Cake

In a bowl, mix:

  • 1 cup cooked oatmeal (regular or steel cut)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup applesauce or other pureed fruit (I wonder if yogurt would work here?)
  • 3 tsp neutral oil or melted butter
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup brown sugar (depending on sweetness of your fruit; go 1/2 cup for pumpkin, less for banana, and with applesauce it depends how sweet yours is!)

Add:

  • 1 cup white or whole wheat flour (or a combination)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1-2 tsp cinnamon (or other spice mix–pumpkin or apple pie spices in general would be good)
  • up to 2/3 cup added raisins or other dried fruits, nuts, or even chocolate chips if you’re feeling decadent

Bake at 350 degrees in greased 9×9 baking dish for about 40 minutes.

*******

Again, very easy, very moist and yummy, and mostly good calories especially if you cut way back on the sugar.

This makes me wonder if one could use frozen or fresh fruit in this recipe, or if it would be too moist…I may have to give it a shot. I’ll report back if I do, of course.

Enjoy!

Posted on April 17, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. OK, you’ve made me really hungry just reading this and sadly there is no oatmeal applesauce cake sitting on my counter. Can’t wait to try this recipe!

  2. I’m making it for breakfast, thank you! I’m using 3/4 pumpkin mixed with a cup of leftover honey banana yoghurt for the “fruit”. I also had some raw sugar to use up, so I mixed that with the brown. After that, I’ve got more leftover oats (I made WAY too many) so I’m going to use some mott’s medleys (fruit and vegetable “sauce”) to make muffins. Thanks for the recipe!!

  3. A month later, I’ve made variations on this recipe at least half a dozen times and they have ALL been successful. Tonight I cooked some cream of rice cereal using mashed overripe bartlett pears and a bit of water to substitute for the cereal and fruit. While it was still hot, I added in the salt, spices, vanilla, sugar and oil plus powdered milk to bump up the protein, then put it into the fridge to chill. In the morning, all I have to do is stir in the eggs, flour and leaveners and then some yoghurt if it’s too thick. My kids’ friends have started watching to see what they bring in for snacktime because I usually send enough to share, too.

  4. Sandra, that is AWESOME! You make me want to play around with this recipe even more. Very cool!

    • *giggle* I don’t know if awesome really works, but thanks. The grocery store near me sells discounted, overripe or bruised produce for CHEEP. Cut off the bat bits and it’s perfect for muffins. This morning, I’m doing finger bananas (EXTRA flavorful and generally overpriced) with plain yoghurt and extra powdered milk. Now I just hope I have moth-free flour — that’s one ingredient I’m not keen to use for extra protein!

Leave a Reply

