Spreadable Butter–way easier than I thought!

Okay, I confess it, among all my “I wanna be green” life changes, the one I’ve hung onto way too long is incredibly silly: “light” spreadable butter.

A long list of ingredients I can’t pronounce. Tastes sort of like butter but not really enough like butter. Fewer calories, but it seems to take more to get the job done anyway.

So last time when I went shopping I forgot to buy it.  Maybe it was a Freudian slip or something. And got quickly frustrated trying to spread “real” butter onto the kids’ bagels for lunch and stuff. So I hit the internet…

Turns out, DIY spreadable butter is incredibly easy:

DIY Spreadable Butter

Let 1 stick of butter soften a bit to room temperature. Put in a bowl and whip with electric beaters till fluffy. D

Drizzle in 1/4 cup neutral oil a little at a time, till fully blended with the butter

Whip on high speed a few minutes to get it all as fluffy as you can

Place into a container and refrigerate

*********

Yes, that’s ALL. Really easy. Less saturated fat, and if you use olive oil as your neutral oil, you get the heart-healthy part added in as well. And well-whipped, there’s a little air in there which maybe means you use less…for me, just being able to spread a thin layer means I’m using less, LOTS less.

You can play with the proportions a little if you want; 2 parts butter to 1 part liquid oil seems good to me, because it preserves the buttery taste but is still soft enough to spread.  Some people go as far as half-and-half, but that seems too much for me…

So…give it a try!

Posted on March 1, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Erin, interesting–you mean, un-refrigerated? It doesn’t go bad or rancid or anything?

    • I change the water out daily with ice cold water. In the winter, it’s definitely fine. In the summer, I change the water out twice a day just to be sure. We also go through a lot of butter since my kids eat toast for breakfast 50% of the time, so the butter only sits in there 3 or 4 days at a time.

      I was very skeptical about it at first, but most of the reviews were positive, and after a year of use, we’ve never seen the butter go bad.

  2. I’ve always been told that it’s safe to leave butter in a covered dish out on the counter all the time. Something about the fat or protein content (don’t ask me – I’m not the scientist – your parents are). Anyway, my in-laws only put the butter in the fridge overnight and take it out in the morning. I’d think that in a Chicago winter, your house would be cool enough to keep it out all the time.

  3. Great idea! I have a butter bell too, but I like the idea of making spreadable butter – it would last a long time in the fridge. I personally don’t think high-quality, organic butter is bad for your health – especially if you blend it with olive oil – eating fat keeps you satisfied and happy! 😉

  1. Pingback: Weekend inspiration

Leave a Reply

