Bless me, Crockpot, for I have no control. (Crockpot Banana Chocolate Pudding Recipe)

Okay, I love $5 Dinners–great site, great ideas.  But occasionally she posts things I’d rather not know about. Like this amazing-looking recipe for crockpot mocha pudding cake.

I’m not going to go that far into the worlds of not-at-all-good-for-you…after all, that recipe calls for more than a cup of sugar and a whole stick of butter, and no good can come of such things. (Hmm. That sounded unconvincing, even to me.)

What I will do is try to make a variation on this recipe, in my first foray into crockpot “baking.” This evening, assuming I can get the burned rice pudding out of my crock (left it in there too long), I’m going to try the following:


Crockpot Banana Chocolate Pudding Cake

In a bowl, mix:

  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup mashed ripe bananas
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • (maybe 2/3 cup chocolate chips, but we won’t talk about that…)

Pour into well-buttered crockpot, cover, and cook on low 2-2 1/2 hours. Turn off, let sit (still covered) another 30 minutes.  Serve with a dollop of greek yogurt or, who am I kidding, vanilla ice cream.

I’ll be back tonight with a review…check back when the Oscars get boring!

UPDATE: Oops! I forgot to come back and add that review! Okay, here we go: It was pretty good, though I overcooked it (ran the full 2 1/2 hour time) and instead of a pudding cake kind of thing it was more of a dense heavy flourless-y (though it did have flour) kind of thing. I didn’t care for it; my husband and kids thought it was delicious. So next time I’ll err more to the 2 hour time frame…flavor-wise, though, it was very very nice. A keeper, I think!

UPDATED UPDATE: Tried this again, and only cooked it 1 hour 45 minutes on high; it was perfect, nice and gooey in the middle and cakey on the outside. Incredibly rich. Lovely.

Posted on February 26, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have to admit I’ve never tried baking in my crock pot. I love baking, but using my slow cooker for it seems strange to me – I guess I want instant gratification. Your recipe sounds yummy though. 😉

  2. This sounds AMAZING! Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

