Fats and Oils: what to cook with, what not

A friend posted or shared this article online a couple of weeks ago, and I bookmarked it because a lot of the info in it came as a surprise to me:

The Complete Guide to Fats and Oils: What To Cook With (or not), What to Avoid

I had always thought that the seed oils were pretty good to use, but this article says they aren’t, and that they are way more processed than we usually think. Grapeseed oil is my oil of choice, and at least it’s not from corn, and no one really hears about any huge brouhaha about GMO grapeseed oil, but…maybe I should re-think?

Or just use olive oil more?

What do you guys think–what’s your go-to neutral oil for baking or cooking?

Anyone yet dared to buck the system and just go back to plain old dairy butter?

Posted on January 31, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Yup! I use grass-fed butter most, along with olive oil. I just started saving and using bacon grease and chicken fat to saute/fry. The taste is amazing, and it’s free, because it is what would normally be thrown out. I just ventured into rendering beef fat for tallow, and it was easy. Again, it is making use of something that would normally be thrown out!

  2. Neat! I too have been wondering about all that lovely white beef fat I drain off of my rare forays into ground beef, or the chicken fat that floats to the top of my stock…you’ve inspired me, I need to check this out!

  3. Hi to all, the contents existing at this web site are really awesome for people knowledge, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  4. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and engaging,
    and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something that not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy I found this during my hunt for something relating to this.

  5. I like what you guys are usually up too. This type oof clever work and exposure!
    Keep up thhe amjazing works guys I’ve added you gyys to our blogroll.

  6. Your cells mitochondria are responsible for weight loss.
    Raspberry ketones, saweed extract, most other effective extracts on the
    market. Fat burning foods are just disparate types of foods that will inevitably aid the body in
    getting rid of its fat cells.

Leave a Reply

