New Year’s Breakfast (Using leftover eggnog in…oatmeal?)

Okay, I admit it–since I was a kid I have loved eggnog. And as an adult, now that one can get really tasty stuff from Oberweis or Organic Valley (I won’t touch the typical grocery store brands; they taste like artificially flavored plastic in liquid form), I still love it.

But by New Year’s Day I begin to get a little tired of it. Oh, I will still use it in place of creamer for my coffee for another week or so, but at some point it’s just enough, you know?

So for breakfast this morning I tried one of my odd little experiments, which actually turned out quite good. (Since I didn’t have the energy to try this recipe, which looks delicious!)

Eggnog and Sweet Potato Oatmeal (or, Easy Single Serving Gussied Up Oatmeal)

In a bowl, put 1/3 cup old fashioned rolled oats.

Add 2/3 cup liquid–I did 1/3 cup eggnog and 1/3 cup water, though you could go all eggnog if you like really sweet.

Add up to 1/2 cup fruit or veggie of choice–I did about 1/2 cup leftover cooked sweet potato, though pumpkin or applesauce or banana are also good. I don’t think I’d do banana with eggnog though, that’d be too sweet, even for me.

Sprinkle nutmeg, or nutmeg-and-cinnamon, or pumpkin pie spice, or whatever you like, over the top.

Microwave about 3 minutes, checking periodically to make sure it’s not exploding. Stir/mash/whatever, let cool slightly, and pig out.

*****

Again, this is totally just a variation on my fondness for turning oatmeal into something more exotic and exciting. And after the pigginess I have been exhibiting over the past week, having a simple and healthy breakfast where the worst–only–offender is 1/3 cup organic eggnog is a good thing. Especially when it tastes so decadent.

And if anyone does try the Eggnog Oatmeal Custard recipe, please let me know how it turned out! It looks divine.

 

Posted on January 1, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

