Eating on a Grad Student Budget (Make-Your-Own Oatmeal Packets)

Starting school has been a big challenge on both the sustainability and financial front. I found myself for the first few weeks buying way too many cardboard cups of coffee and bagels that come with plastic-covered butter pats wrapped in paper and then put into a paper bag with a plastic knife and about 9 napkins. And it was getting expensive.

So it’s taken some adjustment, but I cleaned out the disgusting choral office coffee maker and took a mug to school. I bring my own lunches in reusable containers. And instead of buying bagels for breakfast, I have started bringing my own packets of oatmeal.

These are so easy, and so much more delicious than those packets of microwavable glue you buy pre-mixed. I make up 4 or 5 a week in little ziplocs, which I save and then re-fill the next week. This is fast, easy, and delicious.

********

Easy Single Serving Microwave Oatmeal

In a small container or ziploc bag combine the following (make several at once):

  • 1/3 cup old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1-2 tsp brown sugar (depends how sweet you like it)
  • a small handful raisins, dried cranberries, or dried fruit of choice
  • a good sprinkle cinnamon or other sweet spice mixture
  • a light sprinkle of salt. (optional, but it gives a nice little flavor kick)

To prepare, pour the mixture into a small bowl or mug, add about 2/3 cup water, and heat in the microwave 2-3 minutes.  Stir well and eat.

*******

TOTALLY easy!

And on days I forget my lunch–oatmeal is good for that too.

Posted on November 9, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

