Because It’s That Time Of Year (Grownup Hot Cocoa Recipe)

Many of you know I am a big fan of making one’s own very delicious, very easy, very decadent-tasting and yet very low-fat hot cocoa.  And I spurn any implication that it’s a “kid” drink.

Try this recipe, and you’ll never think of it as a “kid” beverage again.

*******

Grown-up Hot Cocoa for One

In the microwave, heat 8 oz lowfat (or nonfat, or whole, or whatever–I have used almond milk too) milk about 2 minutes or until hot.

While the milk is heating: in a mug, put the following:

  • 1 1/2 to 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 heaping (or really generously heaping) teaspoon unsweetened fair trade baking cocoa
  • a sprinkle cayenne pepper
  • a sprinkle pumpkin pie spice (or just cinnamon, or other sweet spice mixture)

Drizzle in a little brandy or rum (or frangelico, or amaretto, or whatever sounds yummy to you…warm water would also be just fine), just enough to form a smooth paste of the sugar-cocoa mixture.

When the milk is hot, pour over sugar-cocoa paste and stir well. Sip while reading a steamy novel or 18th century music analysis textbook. (I have homework.)

*********

I make this for myself a few evenings a week, or some version of it, as a substitute for more caloric chocolatey things I might otherwise be eating.  A lovely end-of-day hot sweet beverage to sip…

Sto lat!

Posted on November 3, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Please email me! I have a question about your blog! 🙂

    HeatherVonsj@gmail.com

  2. mmmmmm this sounds DELICIOUS! 🙂

  3. The cayenne pepper totally makes it that much more special…it gives it a very slight “kick” of spice…I tried it with almond milk, to see if I can get away from the dairy thing just a little, but it doesn’t quite do it for me…

Leave a Reply

