Yet Another Autumn Cake Recipe (honey apple butter cake)

If y’all get bored with all these variations on my “what I put in my kids’ lunch” snack cakes, I apologize.  But this is where my own recipes go so I can find them.  And this is something fairly healthy that you can whip up really quickly and without any particularly fancy implements; I think I used a soup spoon to mix it. One doesn’t even need to dirty up the beaters.

This was another “experimental” cake that turned out lovely. As usual, my template was my “Bundt Cake of Endless Autumnal Substitution,” only I realized too late (and right after I sent my husband to the store for more oil and half-and-half) that I was almost out of sugar. But we had a lot of honey.

Apparently one can substitute honey for sugar pretty much one-for-one, up to about a cup, and then you have to start reducing other liquids. I only needed about 2/3 of a cup for this (and could honestly have gone with a little less, because the end result was very moist and almost a little too sweet) So I tried using all honey instead of sugar.  The only other adjustment to keep in mind with honey is that it browns faster than sugar, so it’s sometimes smart to reduce the baking temperature a little; I reduced this one to 325 instead of the original 350, and it baked almost as quickly.

I only made a half recipe, since I didn’t have quite enough apple butter for the whole deal (though I could have done maybe a cup of apple butter and a cup of canned pumpkin, and it would have probably been lovely).

Honey Apple Butter Cake

Preheat oven to 325

In a large bowl mix till smooth and maybe a little foamy:

  • 1 cup apple butter
  • 2/3 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (or other flavoring of choice)

Add (just till mixed):

  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour (or combination of white and wheat in whatever proportions you choose)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
  • (and/or other spices in lieu of the above, as you see fit and have in your spice rack)
  • 1/2 cup or so of raisins, nuts, or other dried fruit

Pour into 9×9 square pan and bake 40 minutes or until top springs back when touched and knife inserted in center comes out clean.

******

I brought this into conducting seminar this morning; it went fairly quickly. Enjoy!

Posted on October 25, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

