Viva La Broke-Ass Grouch!

I read Broke-ass’s Grist article “memo to ecovores, it’s cheaper being green” back when it came out in December, when I was still keeping up with my Google Reader and before I fell out of the blog-sky.

Then today Green Bean forwarded this New York Times article, which I started reading, and even without the strong language I immediately recognized the Grouch’s inimitable style and story.

Somewhere in the interim, she published a book. Where have I been? And she has a blog, which I also missed.

I’m delighted to have re-connected with her writing…she is, in my opinion, one of the heroes of the world, an ordinary person in this crappy economy trying to make it work.

Posted on October 10, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I cannot believe that I’ve never read – or even heard of – her. It’s actually a good thing! I can catch up on her blog which looks immensely entertaining and interesting.

  2. Oh my, a little high on the profanity scale for me, but I love what she’s got to say. Frugality is the original sustainability/green. I esp. love the comment about yuppies (human interest story) vs. Mexicans (call the city about a code violation) raising chickens in their backyards.

  3. I think she is awesome–and I think I vicariously enjoy the profanity since I’ve had to cut it completely now that I live with kids. 🙂 But I am just glad her voice is out there! I hope this book deal makes a difference in her broke-ass-ness…

Leave a Reply

