Autumn Baking (Pumpkin Butter Cake)

I love baking in the fall.  Suddenly you just want to throw cinnamon and nutmeg and ginger into everything…and there are apples, and pumpkins, and all this lovely stuff to work with…

Last fall I posted a recipe for my “Bundt Cake of Endless Autumnal Substitution,” a long name for a concoction that could as easily be called “Garbage Cake.” (But my original sounds more appetizing, no?) It’s a thus-far fail-safe template for a cake made out of almost any fruit puree and other basic cake ingredients you can think of.

So last evening, wanting of course to ingratiate myself with my new professors and colleagues, I made up a half-recipe and cooked it in a 9×9 square pan. (8×8 would be better; this one was a little thin, but still very nice.) Brought it in this morning; it survived the train ride in my backpack just fine.

This iteration? Ummm….let’s call it Pumpkin Butter Zucchini Raisin Spice Cake

Mix Well:

  • 1 cup pumpkin butter (I’d be shocked if apple butter doesn’t behave similarly and just as deliciously.)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Add (just till mixed):

  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour (or combination of white and wheat in whatever proportions you choose–the wheat is absolutely fine, though!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

Add at the end, till just mixed in:

  • 2/3 cup or so of raisins (I used golden raisins, but ordinary ones or currants would be equally good)
  • 2/3 cup grated zucchini (patted dry)

Mix well and bake for about 35-40 minutes in an oiled square baking pan. Do not overbake. (Erm…okay, do not underbake either! Don’t you hate it when recipes say this? It’s like, “bake somewhere in this range but we can’t tell you exactly where just don’t screw up.” Sorry about that. 🙂 Double it if you like for use in a bundt pan (or click over to the original recipe for the full-sized version).

This cake is delicious. Moist and rich and comparatively virtuous.  Tastes just like autumn.

Posted on September 22, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ooh. You had me at pumpkin butter! Now I neeed to find a recipe for that!

  2. Robbie, just Google it–there are tons out there! I’ll post one when I figure it out in the slow cooker, but I expect it’s like apple butter, where you just add sugar and spices and cook it down forever till most of the moisture is out of it and it’s the consistency you want.

    For this go-round of the cake I had a jar of the stuff from Trader Joe that I wanted to use up, so that’s where I got it.

    (You can’t hot-water can it if you make it yourself, by the way, which I think you know–not enough acid–I’d freeze it or pressure can it…)

Leave a Reply

