Did you know you can make your own brown sugar?

White sugar is, after all, nothing more than brown sugar with the molasses removed, right?

So if you have a recipe you want to make that wants brown sugar and you don’t have any, or if you just want to keep this in mind so you don’t have to have one thing of white sugar, another of light brown, and a third of dark brown sugar in your pantry at any given time, try this:

*******

To Make One Cup Brown Sugar

Mix together in a bowl:

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 tbs molasses (2 for dark brown sugar)

Schmush around with a fork or whisk until the molasses lumps are gone and it pretty much looks like…surprise, surprise…brown sugar.

*******

That’s IT. Made some today for my Zucchini Bread that I’m taking to our subdivision block party this afternoon.

Keep this in mind! Handy little tip! I wish I remembered what Green Buddy put me onto this a year or two ago, but I love it!

(UPDATE: Took the Zuke bread, in bundt cake form, to the neighborhood block party. By the end it was GONE, every piece.  When I set it down among all the cupcakes and brownies I figured I’d be taking half of it home.  So there. )

Posted on September 10, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is good to know! THanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

