The difference between weeds and wildflowers…

…is essentially where they are growing.

I found this really sort of pretty flower growing in an untended part of my yard the other day. The only remarkable thing about that is that I have spent an inordinate amount of time over the past 2 months removing seedlings and leaf parts of it whenever I saw them in the veggie garden. But I had no idea what it was, or that it would produce such a lovely flower.

I made it my mission to figure out what it was, and in the process found a bunch of really cool wildflower identification sites. U.S Wildflowers has links to a bunch of Illinois (and I presume other states) wildflower sites with photos and seedling ID info and stuff.  Illinois Wildflowers Info has tons of great stuff, but barring the time it would take to go through every photo there to see if it’s my flower, I was sort of at a loss.  Michigan State University has a pdf document with photos of tons of weed seedlings, classified by grassy and broadleaf…

And there it was, at the very end of the list.  Venice Mallow. A subspecies of the hibiscus family. I followed up with a google image search, and there’s my flower.  It doesn’t seem to have any medicinal uses, and it apparently spreads with great abandon, so I will keep yanking it from the veggies.  But as weeds go, it’s a very attractive one.

Posted on August 5, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. looks like it would make a really nice pressed flower, too.

Leave a Reply

