Homemade Toothpaste? A work in progress…

I’m finally home! It was such a lovely relief last night to go to bed and know that I will be sleeping in that very bed for every night for the foreseeable future.  And that there was no alarm set for this morning except my honey’s.  And that I could finally get back on the internet and gobble up the blogs of my green friends…

It’s 12:15 and I haven’t even unpacked yet.  I will before the end of the day, but not yet.  I also forgot that before I left town I had squeezed every last drop out of my toothpaste tube. And my jar of coconut oil had arrived in the mail while I was gone. So it seemed logical that this might be the day at last to attempt Crunchy Betty’s homemade toothpaste recipe.

Or my tweaked-version thereof. Because I never follow a recipe exactly. And I don’t have any glycerine. But I have coconut oil, baking soda, essential oils, and powdered stevia, so…

The pros: my teeth now feel cleaner and shinier than ever except when I have the dentist polish them.

The cons: to my tender sensibilities, the stuff tastes horrible.

I couldn’t understand why, until it occurred to me (doh) that while sodium bicarbonate (baking soda) and sodium chloride (table salt) are absolutely not the same thing, they do have that whole sodium thing working together, and thus anything with that high a proportion of baking soda is going to taste salty whatever you do. So I cut the baking soda, upped the essential oils and stevia, and then it was at least palatable. But still ucky. (Some recipes online call for more salt, which sounds just horrible.)

This is what I ended up with:

mix 1 tbs coconut oil, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 3 drops lemon essential oil, 6 drops peppermint essential oil, 3 drops ginger essential oil. (Basically, to taste–when you taste enough of the oils, stop.) Two small pinches of powdered stevia, or probably half a packet if you use packets.

It will be runny if it’s warm out (it is here) and sort of creamy if not. That’s the coconut oil.  Dip dry toothbrush into mixture and go from there.

This is a fairly small amount, but toothpaste being toothpaste it’s probably enough for a good week or so. Jury’s still out on whether I’ll use it or not for that whole week…and I may mess with it and do some additives like cinnamon or cloves, like this site suggests. (She has a much higher soda-to-oil ratio than even Betty at the start.) I did find another site suggestion arrowroot instead of baking soda, which might cut that saltiness a bit but give a more pasty texture; that might be worth a try…

But in a pinch it’s good to know it’s do-able, when there’s no other toothpaste around!

Posted on July 22, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Baking soda and vinegar seem to be the miracle, do-all products. I’m starting to clean with vinegar now…

  1. Pingback: 20 Uses for Coconut Oil | Good Girl Gone Green

  2. Pingback: 20 Uses for Coconut Oil | My Own Little Playground

Leave a Reply

