Recyclable Sandals!

I won something! I actually won something!

Going Green Mama did a giveaway on her blog for a pair of Okabashi sandals, and I was apparently the winner! I’m the person who pretty much never wins things, so this is pretty cool.

(Exception: when I’ve been booked to play piano or do some other type of gig for charity fundraiser things, I’ve often asked the people who hired me to, instead of paying me, spend that amount of money for me in raffle tickets. I’ve gotten some very nice flower baskets and gift cards that way. 🙂

Anyway…these are pretty cool sandals.  They are way cuter than regular flip flops and look more comfortable and supportive than crocs, and they are fully recyclable: when your sandals wear out, you send them back to the company and they chop them up and melt them down into material to make another pair of sandals. A nice semi-closed circle, don’t you think? I know on the one hand we want to avoid making more Plastic Stuff, but even more than I’m committed to helping less material enter the consumer cycle, I’m committed to making sure what’s in the cycle stays in it and doesn’t then leave the cycle into a landfill.

They are also dishwasher-safe. Which sounds a little weird when applied to shoes, but…it does make some sense. And guaranteed for two years, and pretty cheap to buy to begin with.

Anyway, I’ll let you know how I like them!

Posted on May 24, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

