Repurposing plastic shopping bags into…plastic shopping bags?

No, I’m serious, this is for real!

Check this out, over at Sustainable Urban Living:  Crocheted shopping bags made out of those plastic shopping bags you get dozens of at the store unless you bring your own, and which multiply insanely in your cabinets until you get rid of them (the photo is from her website):

I think these are really cool–she links to directions for making the “yarn” and also to some tote bag patterns, but I’d imagine you could use pretty much any pattern you wanted. I’m not sure I’d want to try this enough to go out and collect plastic bags, and I usually do remember to take mine with me these days, but…it’s sort of cool, isn’t it?

Please, give me a shout if you try this!

Posted on April 20, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

