Adventures with Couscous (and couscous cake recipe!)

I tend to forget about couscous (or goose goose as my daughter calls it). But it’s a really handy little grain, especially for those nights when you don’t have 40 minutes to sit around waiting for the brown rice to cook.

Last week I remembered that I had a box of whole wheat couscous in the cupboard and thought, hey, let’s try it on the kids. I figured I could play up the funny name and tell them it’s like the teeniest tiniest pasta pieces you could ever imagine. They tried it, were unthrilled, but didn’t hate it, so I’ll try it again later with butter and salt. (That solves a lot of ills.)

But in the meantime I had some leftover couscous, and I thought, hmm, what else could I do with this? And by cobbling together a bunch of other recipes I came up with the following:

Spinach Parmesan Couscous Cakes

In a larger-than-you-think-you-need bowl (don’t ask me how I know this), mix the following, in order:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • sprinkle pepper
  • half an onion, chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic, crushed or minced
  • 1/2 cup chopped spinach (amount not particularly important!)
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan
  • 2 cups couscous

Mix well, with spoon or squishing it around in your hand…form patties and place on greased cookie sheet (parchment paper or foil could also be used), bake about 45 minutes at 350 degrees, or until golden brown. (I got about 6 patties out of this much couscous.) You could also try pan-frying these, but they are a pain to flip over without breaking them, and it uses more oil than baking.

Really easy to make, and once they’re done they are very portable.  This is the kind of thing for which I would chop up whatever veggies I had leftover in the fridge–anything that didn’t get eaten the first go-round could be chopped up and dumped into this, in addition to or in lieu of the spinach.

This same recipe might be just as good in a “sweet” version–instead of veggies and garlic and stuff, use raisins and other dried fruits, cinnamon and other sweet spices, and maybe chopped up apples or something…I’ll try that next.  If anyone gives this a shot, let me know how it went!

Meanwhile, I’ll need to try this recipe for Onion and Garlic Quiche with Couscous Crust…

Posted on March 30, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This looks fantastic! Thanks 4 sharing.

  2. ooh- Morningstar Farm has Asian Rice cakes (with edamame and carrots) that are similar and of which I’ve had zero luck recreating. I’m going to try yours. They sound delicious and I bet my girls will love them.

Leave a Reply

