Sometimes I just needs me some chocolate…

Okay, I can try to eat healthy foods, I can have delicious homemade vegetarian pasta fazool for dinner and homemade wheat bread for breakfast…but sometimes I just have a really crappy week, and I need some decadent chocolate goodness. (There’s a reason we have “emotional eating”–because it effing works.)

Remember last year when I posted my adventures in trying to make my own Nutella? And how I wasn’t entirely successful but in the process discovered an easy 20 seconds-in-the-microwave alternative?

Today I discovered how to tweak that recipe just slightly and make a delicious nutty hot fudge.

Quick Single Serving Nutty Hot Fudge

In a small microwavable bowl, put the following (let’s all pretend we’re actually measuring this stuff, which I never do):

  • 1 tbs. smooth nut butter (almond, peanut or other nut butter–as you like it, smooth, raw, chunky, roasted, whatever.)
  • 1-2 tsp chocolate chips
  • 3 tsp milk or half and half

Microwave about 15-30 seconds (depending on your microwave); remove immediately and stir to combine ingredients. If you’re lucky, it should be about the consistency of hot fudge; if it’s too thick you may need to add a little more milk, and if it’s too thin, make the supreme sacrifice and add a few more chocolate chips. Heat again if necessary, but only a few seconds at a time, till it’s the way you like it.

Drizzle or glop over ice cream.

This recipe is most effective during the day while your kids are at school. You can make it eventually to share with the family, but for the moment you’ll want to try it experimentally to see if it works.  And every good experiment needs a few times before you are certain you’ve got the different permutations right…take your time on this. 😉

 

Posted on March 3, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

