What I’m Reading (link love)

Once again, my Google Reader has gone insane and I have much more on it than I should. So this morning, I’m trying to pare it down–here’s some of the goods:

Go Green For Better Sleep–okay, I was excited about this one, but it’s pretty much full of what I already know: turn the lights down, turn down the heat, get some good nature time during the day, blah blah blah. I mean, I guess that’s all good stuff, but it’s not helpful for an avowed insomniac like me.

How the 2011 Oscars Went Green–watching them might have been like watching paint dry, it was good to discover that they were making some real green effort–from the recycled-bottle-red-carpet, to the completely local and organic food, to the 100% renewable (wind) energy used to power the event…that’s good news! (Maybe they can get a wind turbine to host next year…it might be more animated than James Franco…)

Wal-Mart Bans Controversial Flame Retardants–okay, what’s up with this? How am I supposed to keep hating on Wal-Mart when they keep doing all these socially and environmentally responsible things?

Eco-Snobbery Sucks — a newly discovered blog. Love this. From the title to the good info it’s filled with. Like this recipe for homemade children’s cough syrup.

Chile Chews muses about Low Tech Solutions for household energy and carbon footprint reduction. I like this–it makes me feel green rather than lazy and cheap.

Don’t End Agricultural Subsidies, Fix Them--Mark Bittman’s latest column points out that despite USDA recommendations for how many fresh fruit and veggie servings a day we should be eating, our agricultural system as it stands currently couldn’t support that if everyone were to live by it. Instead, the government subsidizes commodity crops that go largely for our seemingly endless supply of cheap factory farmed meat…

And finally…Annie Leonard’s got a new movie: The Story of Citizens.  Check it out. I’m about to…

And now, on to face the day!

Posted on March 2, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

