Walmart will always be Walmart

Despite their new high-profile insistence that they are All About the Green Healthy Efforts, it seems to me that Walmart will always be Walmart.

Now they are coming out with a new line of makeup–geared for girls aged 8-12. Which means the little girls in my son’s second grade classroom are among its target audience. (Oh, excuse me…it’s not marketed for the children, it’s marketed to their parents. Makes all the difference.  Maybe. Or not.)

Some people are calling for a boycott. Some of us have been boycotting Walmart for years.

In any case, if I had even a moment of hope that Walmart is somehow evolving and changing into a wonderful environmentally and personal-healthy company, it was a brief one.

Am I crazy that I think 8-year-old girls and mascara are a ridiculous mix?

Posted on January 30, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. No. Girls are growing up too quickly as it is.
    Make up should not be marketed to 8 to 12 year olds. Let them be kids for at least that long.
    Stay warm.
    I’m a few hours south of you and it is freezing outside.
    I shop at Walmart as little as possible.

  2. Ugh, and it’s supposed to get colder tonight…you too. (And your blog makes me drool…delicious-looking recipes, I will need to try some…)

Leave a Reply

