Spice Blend–for Sweet Stuff

This is not a big deal at all, just one of the little things I’ve started doing that’s turned out to be awesome, so I’m passing it along…

First of all, whenever I empty a glass spice jar, I never ever toss it out.  Those are handy little suckers, and they don’t take up much space. (Note: the jars are infinitely reusable, but the plastic lids tend to take on the odor of whatever spice lived in there before. Please do not try this spice blend and store it in a jar that used to hold garlic powder, okay?)

Last time I ran out of cinnamon, I held onto the jar. Having gotten tired of, every time I made oatmeal or pie or anything of that nature, getting out 5 little jars and putting in a little of each spice, I made up a blend that basically matches what I’d end up doing if I got out all the little jars, and stored it in that jar-formerly-known-as-cinnamon:

“Sweet” Spice Blend:

In a spice jar, put (by the way, really anything beyond the first three or four is optional, just seriously yummy):

  • 6 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground allspice
  • 1 tsp ground cardamom
  • 1 tsp ground anise seed
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves

Put the lid on, shake well. That’s it. Makes just under half a bottle, with the ones I have. I use this all the time. I sprinkle a little on my ground coffee before pouring the water over it.  I put it on oatmeal.  I put it in cakes. I put it in pies. I put it in rice pudding. Pretty much any cinnamony-winter-spicy dish or beverage I can think of, this is a great addition. (Like hot milk, with a little vanilla and sugar and some of this sprinkled on top…a lovely before-bed not-very-high-calorie drink…)  And it’s incredibly easy.  Using it means I crave less sugar in whatever the recipe is, too, because it adds so much really deep and layered flavor to whatever it is…

So–like I say, not a big deal–but do let me know if this works for you, or if you have any similar-type blends with more or less ingredients!

Posted on January 28, 2011, in cooking, recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. What a great idea. I save jars too, now I know what to do with them.

  2. Mmmm, that is wonderful. I was just wondering what to do with my empty cinnamon jar. Thanks!
    Pumpkin pie spice contains 4 of those. I’ve just been using that, but I think I’ve found a new blend now.
    As for garlic jars, after you clean them store them with some baking soda for awhile. Rinse it out before you use them. That works on plastic containers too. And if it’s stubborn, use some lemon juice next.
    I’ve also used those jars to keep baking soda in for easy cleaning in the kitchen and bathroom.

  3. That’s a good idea for the garlicky jars! I’ve been able to get the smell out of the glass, no problem, but it sticks around in the plastic-lined lids and I haven’t had any luck yet, but storing baking soda sounds like it might be a good twofold solution!

  1. Pingback: Overnight Crockpot Pumpkin Spice Oatmeal « It's Not Easy Being Green

  2. Pingback: Eating on a Grad Student Budget (Make-Your-Own Oatmeal Packets) « It's Not Easy Being Green

  3. Pingback: Getting Ready for Christmas Breakfast…(Pumpkin Eggnog Bread Pudding and Spiced Cranberry Compote) « It's Not Easy Being Green

Leave a Reply

