A moment of Christmas peace

It’s 1:15am on Christmas “morning.” The gifts are wrapped and under the tree, the kids are in bed maybe asleep and maybe not, and Norad Tracks Santa says he’s been here and gone long ago…my husband and I are nibbling on the carrots left for the reindeer and the little piece of cheese left for Santa Mouse. Soon we will start on the cookies.

I’ve had greener Christmases. This year I didn’t get to any furoshiki wrappings, and while some of the gifts came from places like The Hunger Site Store and Heifer Project International, way too many came from those other places it’s hard to avoid…My daughter is getting a gorgeous pink “princess dress” I found at the local Goodwill; each of my kids got Christmas jammies I sewed frantically for them this morning, as well as a travel neck pillow and blanket for the train ride we’re taking Sunday night.  I did okay.  And while the goodies under the tree should satisfy the childish delight in Christmas Excess, it’s an excess in the context of a couple of children who live very modestly and without tons of the latest gadgets and goodies all the time.

I have to get up in about 5 hours, so I should go to bed…I’m just really enjoying these few minutes of quiet and calm.  And clarity–blessed, sweet clarity.

For much of  my adult life, my churchgoing experiences at Christmastime have been, to all intents and purposes, the real “reason for the season.”  Somehow in the past couple of years the things of Christmas in which I take the most joy have shifted to something even deeper than my experience of my faith, something more basic and fundamental, and certainly no less holy.

Merry Christmas.  And to all a good night. And God bless us, every one.

Posted on December 25, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

