Still trying to love the Vita-Mix…getting closer.

One of the things I married into was this massive enormous overachiever of a blender, that my husband spent some ridiculous amount of money on, called a Vita-Mix. It’s the kind of thing you see infomercials on on late-night TV, half an hour of “did you know it could do this?–Wait! There’s more!” It purees, it dices, it makes soup without a stove, it makes ice cream without a freezer, yada yada yada.

I honestly have barely used the thing in almost 9 years of marriage.  It’s heavy, it’s too tall for any of our cabinets, it’s a giant pain in the tail.

But then last week I found a post on someone’s blog–whose, I can’t remember, or I’d link to it–who mentioned that when she cans tomatoes, rather than peeling and seeding and running them through a food mill, she just removes the cores but then throws the rest of the thing into the Vita-Mix on high for a few minutes, seeds and skins and all, and the thing completely purees the heck out of the skins and seeds.

I had about 7 tomatoes I forgot about in the crisper; they were getting a little on the edgy side, so I figured, no time like the present.

I still think the blender is an overachiever.  But I can also attest that it works. The result, of course, it way too watery, so it needed to be simmered down a lot, but it’s so many many many times less trouble than the food mill, which I couldn’t stand.  I still will prefer to do a lot of canning the way I did over the summer, with bigger and chunkier tomatoes, but this quicker-and-easier way to make puree is a great thing in a pinch.

And yes, after about 4 minutes, the tomatoes started to heat up, and if I’d let them go a little longer, they would have been soup.  That part’s not a joke either. So…

Maybe it’s time for me to start watching some more infomercials.

Posted on November 14, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’ve been reading some raw foods cookbooks lately, and they all swear by the Vita Mix. It sounds pretty cool, but not enough to make me want one.

    • Well, in a lot of ways it’s kind of a “Manly Blender” kind of thing–like they took “blender with decent motor” and upped it into the Power Tool category. My happy little Black and Decker did very well for me for many years, but I have to admit it never had the stones to do what this one can. (To extend the manly image.) And eventually one day it just sort of Died. So this is what we’ve got.

      I’m willing to be convinced…but it’s going to be slow going.

  2. I have had one of these for years. I love it. It makes the best smoothies with no waste; I have also made soup and ice cream in it and I have celiac disease so also use it to grind my own flour mixes – I have the dry container and blades for this. Even my kids use it to make their own smoothies.

  3. I’ve heard about the flour thing too, and might have to try it…

  1. Pingback: There was a time when it all went…wrong. (Making Lotion Badly) « It's Not Easy Being Green

  2. Pingback: Negotiating with the Vita-Mix (Easy Pumpkin Spice Soup) « Green Mom in the Burbs

  3. Pingback: Vita-Mix Potato Pancakes? No, really. (A food processor would work too) | Green Mom in the Burbs

Leave a Reply

