Chocolate Banana Bread recipe

Oh.  My.  God.

Over at Fun and Food Cafe, there is a recipe for a really lovely twist on “what to do when your bananas turn dark brown and mushy when you’re not looking.”   By happy coincidence, today as I discovered that post I also realized that the mushy bananas my husband said he would freeze a week ago were still sitting in the fruit bowl on the counter. And they were past mushy by now, they were actually verging on liquid. (Eew, I know.) So I figured this would be a good day to give it a shot.

(Y’all know, don’t you, that if you peel, chunk, and freeze bananas when they’ve just turned too ripe to eat normally, they are wonderful for smoothies, right?)

I tweaked it a bit for healthiness reasons and because my hubby doesn’t do nuts…but still, Yow. Serious goodness here.  And it was unbelievably easy.

Chocolate Banana Bread (updated 10/10)

In a large bowl mix, in order:

  • 3 or so mushy overripe bananas, slightly mashed
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup neutral oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Mix well–I left some chunks in the bananas, but you could use a mixer and get it nice and smooth if you wanted.

Add all at once (best is to mix dry ingredients in one bowl and then add them to the wet; I never do.)

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup white flour (or use all whole wheat flour)
  • 1/2 cup baking cocoa (up from 1/4 cup)
  • 3/4 cup sugar (up from 1 cup)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Mix just until blended; don’t overmix or your dough will be tough.  Add 1/2 cup chocolate chips and/or 1/2 cup toasted nuts, stir till just incorporated.

Bake in greased loaf pan at 350 for 55-60 minutes. Let cool, if you can stand the wait, and remove from pan.

This is SERIOUSLY good.  I should also clarify that the chocolate chips make a really significant contribution to the difference between “delicious” and “ohmigod.”  But this is really good.  I bet you could go 100% whole wheat flour in this and it would be no less awesome…next time.

Because, yes, there will be a next time.

Posted on September 5, 2010, in recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks so much for posting this recipe! I made it for my co op picnic and am so impressed. Needless to say, it did not last long. My one dilemma is whether to share it. Everyone wanted the recipe. 🙂

  2. I’m gonna give this a whirl. Thanks

  1. Pingback: Bundt Cake of Endless Autumnal Substitution « It's Not Easy Being Green

Leave a Reply

