Honey Berry Snack Cake

Another in my series of experiments with my “berry easy muffins” recipe

I used up all my sugar making plum jam, but I wanted to bake to take some hard-working choir members munchies to break up their long morning.  So I looked up how to substitute honey for sugar in a recipe: turns out up to a cup, you just substitute honey for sugar in a 1:1 ratio.  More than a cup and you start reducing the honey a little, because it’s actually sweeter than sugar.  You are also supposed to reduce the other liquid in the recipe by about 1/4 cup per cup of honey added.   You also add 1/2 tsp baking soda per cup of honey, to counteract the acidity; I didn’t bother with it in this instance.

So, this is how this recipe turned out:

Honey Cake with Berries

In a bowl, mix well:

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tbs water or milk
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Mix in until just blended:

Mix in 1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen berries. (I used mixed berries this time)

Pour into a 9×9 baking dish and bake at 400 degrees about 30 minutes; if berries are frozen, it will probably take up to 10 minutes longer.

VERDICT: The best version of this cake yet.  The honey is a really nice addition and adds great but subtle flavor.  I might try it sometime using black coffee in place of the milk; I think that’s common in honey cake for Rosh Hashana, and it’s just sort of a variation that might be fun…

One needs to be careful of the honey since it browns more quickly than regular sugar, and I was just a little on the safe side of the center not being quite done even though the top looked nice and brown. But it’s fine. (40 minutes, frozen fruit.)

Yummy cake.  My choir will be lucky if they get any.

Posted on July 31, 2010, in recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

