Fun sewing blog–Upcycling a dress a day

Okay, this is just fun.  In the spirit of “Julie and Julia,” this blogger has vowed to repurpose 365 frumpy thrift store dresses for no more than $365 over the course of a year, one a day.  I found this on MNN (Mother Nature Network, of course!)

She does before and after pictures, gives general directions but not explicit tutorials…this stuff probably isn’t for the faint of heart nor the novice seamstress, although on the other hand, if you spent two bucks on a dress at the local thrift store and screw it up, who cares?

She’s good, though–for example, on day 172, she started with this:

And ended up with this:

True, she’s thin and petite and cute, and probably almost anything would look good on her, but it’s still damn inspiring.

Posted on June 30, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I was impressed by this young woman, too! It’s not just that she looks good in her creations (although I harbor a fair amount of envy); it’s that she is so talented and creative that all her creations look terrific.

    I sent my daughter the URL. The sewing gene skipped a generation from my mom to my daughter. I just admire them from afar.

  2. Oh, I so agree! She’s amazing! The other thing I realized, though, when I stopped at the thrift store to try to emulate her on maybe one or two things, is that when you’re little and thin there’s a lot more to choose from–huge things can be cut down. I’m five foot ten and non-skinny, so finding anything not too small to begin with is a challenge, let alone a garment with enough room in it to futz. And I don’t have half her creativity or “eye.”

Leave a Reply

