Berry good, berry easy…(muffin recipe)

My husband still brings me the magazines his mom gets but never reads; I’m sort of finishing out her current set of subscriptions.  Many of them are downright scary in their pro-consumer, pro-processed, pro-chemical stance on things…but occasionally I find an article or a recipe I might want to use.

Like this one for easy berry muffins. Or, I guess, almost any kind of muffins.

The reason it’s so quick and easy is that it uses pre-made “pancake mix” as a base ingredient. Aha, I thought! I make my own baking mix! So I tried the recipe with my own baking mix and a couple little alterations:

Berry Easy Muffins

In a bowl, mix well:

  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 cup water or milk
  • 1/4 cup oil (or applesauce?)

Mix in until just blended:

Stir in 1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen berries (I used raspberries) (Note: if you use frozen berries, leave them frozen when you mix them in, or they will produce a whole bunch of juice and completely discolor your muffins. Well, okay, really, they will discolor your muffins any way you slice it, but what the heck.)

Pour into prepared muffin cups. (Either paper lined, or greased, or non-stick.) Bake at 400 degrees for 14-16 minutes (longer if you’re using frozen berries).  Or pour into a 9×9 baking dish and bake about 30 minutes.  For me, this batch makes about a dozen regular-sized muffins.

VERDICT: These were pretty good.  I would probably add some other flavoring next time I make them, like a little cinnamon or vanilla or other extract, but they make a nice basic neutral muffin. And they are amazingly speedy-fast–I can’t imagine anything being easier. (The kids thought they were gross. Figures.  Next time I’ll try chocolate chips or something, that’ll fly better.  I think the raspberries were too sour.)

I personally use about half and half white and whole wheat flour in my baking mix, so doing this with your own baking mix makes these pretty healthy.  I didn’t do the oil-for-applesauce substitution, which would even cut back on more fat and calories. I wonder if mashed banana would work in place of the oil too…but I’ll try that next day I make these.  For the moment this recipe is a tweakable keeper.

Posted on May 27, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

