Another night with no time to cook

Sometimes it’s nice to know I Still Got It.

Okay, so there was some pre-prepared and/or processed-ness going on here, but still it was a good meal that was largely from good fresh ingredients and turned out pretty darned healthy.

Last night I went, for the first time in a while, to my old “Chicken+jar of sauce+vegetables in crockptot=dinner” method of cooking.  I threw some frozen boneless chicken pieces (not organic or free range, unfortunately) into the crockpot–maybe 3 thighs and two breasts?–a bag of frozen peppers and onions, about 6 smallish yukon potatoes, and a jar of Trader Joe Thai Red Curry sauce went on top of that.

On low for 6-7  hours.  Dinner done.  If I’d remembered I would have thrown a bag of spinach in there too over the last twenty minutes or so.  Served over brown rice I made in quantity a few days ago.  This will probably feed us for three nights.

Those Trader Joe jarred sauces are really very good–almost without exception.  This one I might also try next time without the meat–a few more potatoes or sweet potatoes and some additional veggies like cauliflower, carrots, broccoli, peas, and so forth–and it’d probably be really yummy.  Admittedly the chicken cooking in it gave the sauce a nice brothy flavor, but I bet it’d still be good.

And now we have leftovers for tomorrow…whew, good, because I won’t have any time to cook then either.

Posted on March 21, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

