Imitation sorta-Nutella! (quick and easy)

…although it’s a pain in the neck and not all that easy, at least if you’re going to really do it from scratch.

Nutella is one of my favorite “junk” foods–chocolate and hazelnut in a spread.  But...it’s made with palm oil.  Which is problematic.

So me being me, I went on a mission to make my own. Now, if you do a google search for “Make your own Nutella,” you’ll come up with a gazillion different sites that all basically say the same thing.  And it’s a lot of work.  I tried it. Trust me. It’s a pain in the butt.

The first thing you have to do is actually make hazelnut butter.  Which involves toasting the nuts, rubbing the skins off, and pulverizing them in your food processor.  Countless web sites say helpful things like “chop in your food processer until paste forms.” Some even say, “This will take a while; don’t worry, it’ll happen!”

Didn’t quite happen.  At least, not the way I wanted it to, which would have involved actual smoothed out butter butter, more like lumpy oily nuts that kind of all stuck together, and even that only after LOTS of scraping down and scraping down and scraping down.  Still nice, but not what I was looking for.  Only one site was kind enough to tell me that if I don’t have a real nut grinder I’ll never actually get smooth nut butter.  Thanks, all you bozos who insist I’ll get nut butter in my Cuisinart if I’m just patient enough.

So I’d highly recommend, for the desirer of true Nutella, finding someplace to buy the hazelnut butter. That’s the only way “quick and easy” can hope to work.  Unfortunately, hazelnut butter is fairly expensive (hence cheap palm oil and all), so doing this with actual hazelnut butter will probably be pricey.  The good news is that you can make something really easy and almost as good with almond or peanut butter, and it doesn’t cost an arm and a leg.  I’ll be honest, it doesn’t really address my own yen, but I’m a hazelnut addict.

So…this little recipe below is a really nice thing for when the chocolate yen hits and you want something delicious and quick and made out of ingredients you understand and which you know didn’t contribute to the denuding of a rainforest:

Quick and Easy Microwave Pseudo-Nutella (or other nut butter concoction)--single serving

In a small microwavable bowl, place:

  • 1 tbs. smooth hazelnut butter (or almond or peanut or other nut butter)
  • 1-2 tsp chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp milk or half and half

Microwave about 15-30 seconds (depending on your microwave); remove immediately and stir to combine ingredients.  The chips should melt and it all should incorporate into a nice smooth paste.  Smear on bread, use as fruit dip, or eat with a spoon, especially if it’s the week before your period.

Posted on March 6, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. do you supposed you could add some other oil to your yukky cuisinart hazlenuts to thin the glop out a bit? Ideally Hazelnut oil, but maybe some other oil? If the NUtella folks seem to need palm oil, maybe some other oil might work. If you still have that gob or sort of ground hazelnuts, try it!

  2. greenmomintheburbs

    I tried that, actually…and it worked somewhat, but the Cuisinart just can’t pulverize the nuts enough to really become paste, it’s just too coarse. Still very nice, I guess, but not nutella-ish at all.

  3. This is actually really helpful! Thanks for linking it on the DailyMomtra fb page.

  1. Pingback: Friday Green Links – 3/19 « Pragmatic Environmentalism

Leave a Reply

