Pussy willows!

Today is a good day.

After last week’s foot or so of snow, suddenly temps have sort of risen to the comfortable mid-thirties (yeah, in a Chicago winter that is considered comfortable) and stayed for a couple of days.  And since today is my day off, and the sun is shining, and I’m about Wii’d out for the season, I put on a couple of sweaters and my new eco-sneaks and went for a nice long walk.

God, it felt good! Real air, real sunshine, real exercise (I sort of alternated walking and running till my asthma kicked in; once it’s warmer I’ll be able to run longer)–it was awesome.

And about 2 blocks from the house coming back I passed a pussy willow bush with the little fuzzballs emerging in all their herald-of-spring glory.  Crocuses mean it’s actually imminent–but pussy willows are more like the hopeful promise that it’s actually getting closer.

The official groundhog in Pennsylvania saw its shadow this year; the one at Brookfield Zoo, nearest to Chicago, did not.  So I’m taking every hopeful sign I can think of to get spring here as quickly as possible.  And this year, our second growing season in our new-to-us House With Actual Yard, I want to do the growing right.  I want to start plants from seed, I want to grow so many tomatoes that I will have enough canned to last through next winter, I want carrots and peas caged so the bunnies won’t eat them, I want more zukes and this time I want yellow squashes too and maybe some winter ones…we’ll see how much of it actually happens, but on the day of the first pussy-willow sighting in February, anything is possible…

Posted on February 19, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

