Giving up paper towels for Lent?

Well, Lent or not, it’s past time we started trying. We go through an awful lot of these suckers, so I’m on a methodical journey to evaluate where we use them most, and then develop alternatives.  First area of attack: converting to daily cloth table napkins.

I have a new post up over at The Green Phone Booth about our family’s new efforts…come check it out!

Posted on February 19, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Personally, I’d way rather give up paper towels than dessert for lent. LOL! I know that’s not the point of lent, I’m just sayin’. . . 🙂

  2. greenmomintheburbs

    Well, me too, in a way…but then, most of the time “dessert” for us is a bowl of fresh fruit or cinnamon bread I made with organic ingredients and a good dose of whole wheat flour tossed in there for good measure, or things like that. (Okay, that’s family dessert, not the secret chocolate hoard I have in the upper cabinet…)

    Besides, like last year when I tried to change the way our whole family approached eating, I’m hoping this will be a permanent change.

    Now please excuse me while I go break into my 70% dark chocolate trove and contemplate self-denial a little more…:-)

  3. Alternatives for cleaning: old washcloths are great. also old dish towels – mine are so disreputable that i am almost embarrassed to even use them for cleaning! But the older they are the softer and more absorbent they are, so…. old ragged bath towels. I never found Tshirts worked very well. BUT I think you should keep a couple of rolls of paper towels (hidden, maybe!) for cleaning up dog diarrhea or dog barf. YUK!!! Disposable is the way to go here!!! Same for kleenex, at least when folks are sick. Better than having germy handkerchiefs lying around exuding germs!!!

  4. greenmomintheburbs – You made me laugh . . .I like the way you think! 🙂

Leave a Reply

