Breakfast Mission: On the Go

Okay, so I explored oatmeal and muesli within an inch of their lives, and they are actually pretty good.  Eventually, though, one gets sort of bored.

As the winter gets wintrier, too, I’m finding it harder and harder to get moving enough on all days to actually eat at home, and muesli isn’t exactly a “to go” kind of breakfast food, ya know?

So here are some things I’ve come up with:

Baked Oatmeal: This is a recipe I’ve made a lot and tweaked a lot; it’s very substitutable.  The original recipe can be found here, but this time I changed it slightly by using some sort of general hot cereal grain and maybe half a cup of pre-made muesli in lieu of the oatmeal.  Alters the nutritional content a bit, I guess, but honestly I think I like it better with oats.  I also didn’t have applesauce so I used apple butter instead (because I didn’t want to use oil, which was the ingredient suggested in the original recipe I started adapting from)…But it’s very yummy and very portable, and has very few ingredients that anyone could quibble with health-wise. (It has an egg. And it has a quarter cup of brown sugar. Can’t think of much else.) Like I said in my previous post, it’s like a big thick squishy bar-shaped oatmeal cookie only not as sweet.  Very good, and very portable.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich: I kid you not, this is a great breakfast food.  Whole grain bread or bagel, a slice of nice cheese, and whatever veggies you want to slide on there.  You don’t even necessarily have to “grill” it–toss the bread into the toaster while you’re making the coffee, pull it out and put the ingredients on it, and then heat it in the microwave for maybe 20-30 seconds right before you’re out the door.  You could put egg on it if you’d had the foresight to omelette a few eggs and refrigerate them a few days ago (I’m going to try this next; if it works it’ll merit a post of its own), or you could do something like cheddar cheese and apple slices (honestly not my thing, but I’m told it’s a combination some people dig)

So far that’s all I’ve really got, for practical purposes, that fits into my very specific and time-sensitive mission parameters.  I haven’t tried the breakfast burrito thing yet, but that might be next, and honestly at times of year when I’m doing any kinds of serious cooking might be the ultimate best use-the-left0vers-breakfast-on-the-go…but that’s another post for another day.

In the meantime, I highly recommend the baked oatmeal thing–it’s almost scary-easy, nothing has to be mixed separately or treated with any great gentleness, you just sort of throw it all into a bowl and mix it up and dump it into your baking pan.  And it really is yummy.

Posted on February 10, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

