Okay, I’m going to go take a nap.

Huge thanks to Green Bean for this: the Lazy Manifesto: Do Less; Then Do Even Less.

I am a firm believer in the virtues of laziness.  Not the “sloth” kind of laziness that doesn’t care if it does anything of any worth at all, but the laziness that weighs the value of what effort we put into the something and decides if, realistically, it’s worth said effort.

As I’ve often said, efficiency is nothing more than the marriage of perfectionism and laziness.  A deep desire to combine best possible result with least effort expended to acquire it.

I tend to take a similar approach to my green efforts–I’d like to be as green as possible, but to be honest, I’m loath to work too hard at it.  And I refuse to yield to the siren call of Mommymartyrdom, you know, that impulse many of us have to Sacrifice All For The Good Of Others, because That’s What Good Mommies Do?  Hate that.

I’m a firm believer that life should be fun, enjoyable–not because I’m selfish and immature and refuse to grow up and face the music, but because I have a deep conviction that when we’re living our lives well and in the direction we’re sort of Meant to, we will naturally find joy.  The idea that we don’t have to Do More, in fact that we do need to Do Less, in order to find our lives filling up with more and more of the life-giving stuff and sweeping away the energy-suckage stuff, is one that makes really good sense to me.

So I’m going to take a nap.

Posted on February 2, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

