Don’t EVEN tell me having pets is un-green…

Okay, this article annoyed me. “The Devastating Impact of Man’s Best Friend” my dachshund’s furry little butt.  My wiener dog is not “The New Hummer.”

Marion Nestle doesn’t think so either.

So there.

Posted on January 5, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This story bugged me too but I can’t help but admit that dog food and treats have bugged me for a long time, since the people in my family try to avoid factory farmed meat. We just switched to a vegetarian dog food and it seems to be going well. It’s a lot more expensive but they eat less and my bassett hounds can do with less too 🙂

  2. greenmomintheburbs

    Well, it bothers me too a little, because we actually don’t use the “scrap” commercial dog foods Nestle refers to, we use all-natural very-low-meat kinds of food, which on the one hand are healthier, but on the other do require actual “first run” food to produce, and not the scraps the factory system produces. On the other hand, our dogs are little, and…well…it might be a rationalization, but we’re able to keep our heat down several degrees in the winter because of the furry little hot water bottles who share the bed with us. 🙂 I just think that comparing care of ANY living creature to a “Hummer” is sort of…cold.

    • to say nothing about my impression, at least, that hummer owners are the energy hogs of our society in lots of other parts of their lives as well!

      • greenmomintheburbs

        Wonder if there’s a way to calculate how much lower we can turn our thermostat at night for each dog that shares the bed and warms us up, a truly renewable heat source? (Which means in our house we’re still short one dog…)

  3. the dog foods that we use are certified organic as we do not want to use those dog foods contaminated with chemicals”*`

Leave a Reply

