So granola I make my own granola (recipe!)

Do a Google search for “best granola recipe ever” and you’ll get an insane number of hits.  They all look pretty good, too…

So I figure, why not throw my hat into the ring too?  I’ll probably be making up a batch or two of my favorite granola recipe for a few more gifts this year; what doesn’t get given will easily be eaten, so it’s hard to go wrong.

I cobbled this recipe together from a whole bunch of others and a lot of trial and error, so I think it probably counts as “mine” without needing to credit anyone else…even if I should, I’ve had this in my computer for about 4 years, and I have no idea where I cobbled it from, so oh well!

JENN’S GRANOLA RECIPE (doubles easily!)

  • 4  cups regular oats
  • 1-1 ½ cups nuts (pecans and/or almonds and/or whatever you like)
  • 1 ½ tsp. ground cinnamon
  • ½  tsp. Nutmeg
  • ¼ tsp ground cloves
  • ½  tsp salt

(mix in bowl)

Boil in small saucepan:

  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 2 tbs brown sugar
  • 2 tbs vegetable oil

Pour over dry stuff, mix well.

Spread on foil-covered, greased baking sheet. Bake 30-35 minutes at 325, stirring every 10 minutes, till golden brown. (possible will “clump” better if one waits 20 minutes for the first stir?)

When completely cooled, mix in ¾ – 1 cup each dried cranberries, golden raisins, and currants or blueberries. Makes about 8 cups.

(Update: okay, I made this as gifts for several people, and I have to admit this is FABULOUS granola.  Low in fat, sweet, flavorful, crunchy, and just plain YUM.  And thinking back, I developed this recipe during a period when I was obsessed with making my own granola, so I tried literally about a dozen different recipes before settling on this one.  I honestly feel safe calling this “the best granola I’ve ever had.”)

Posted on December 19, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

