Food Inc.–go rent it NOW.

Food Inc., for those who don’t know about it, is a documentary about the American food system, how it works, who runs it, and how that impacts almost everything about our lives–not to mention the lives of people all over the globe.

Like many green blogs, the bulk of my readership is other greenies, which is sort of too bad since I’m still sort of at Greenness 102 level and most of them are way better at it than I am.  And I suspect most of them have already seen this movie. (If you haven’t, GO SEE IT.  NOW.) (Although if you read Grist.com and/or La Vida Locavore, and have read The Omnivore’s Dilemma and Fast Food Nation, there won’t be a whole lot of brand new stuff you didn’t know.  But somehow seeing it all at once over a couple of hours hits hard and makes you mad all over again…)

But if you haven’t, if you’re someone who honestly, like me not very many months ago, never really thought to ask where our food comes from and how it gets to the supermarket, who grows it, how they live and what they have to do to keep their families fed, you need to see this.  Not as a guilt trip–to be very blunt, I expected that watching this movie would make me feel guilty.  It didn’t make me feel guilty, it made me feel screwed with.  It made me feel deceived and lied to and treated like a commodity, and if there’s a feeling of guilt, it’s side by side with a feeling of anger that Certain People have made me into part of the problem without asking my permission. What this movie shows is unbelievable. And yet completely believable.

See this movie.  Put it on your Neflix queue, find it at the video store, whatever. But see it.

Posted on December 11, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It is a wonderful movie. I’m still relatively new to all this as well, and it made me mad as well.

  1. Pingback: Carnivores, Vegetarians, and dilemmas « It's Not Easy Being Green

Leave a Reply

