Crockpot Lemon Rosemary Chicken

Yesterday was the quintessential Really Cruddy Day*. Serious Mondayness. However, dinner was a bright spot.

I had a few pounds of chicken in the fridge approaching their sell-by date…and I needed inspiration.  So of course I consulted with Stephanie the Fabulous Crockpot Lady…

What I finally did was sort of a hybrid of two of her recipes: her Lemon and Herb Roasted Chicken recipe, and her Pesto Chicken and Sweet Potatoes Layered Dinner.   Here’s what I did:

Lemon Rosemary Chicken and Roasted Sweet Potatoes:

  • Slice 1 onion and separate into rings; place in bottom of crockpot
  • Place chicken on top of onion. (I used 4 large boneless breasts.)
  • Sprinkle chicken with a little salt and pepper
  • Sprinkle chicken with several tbs fresh chopped rosemary or 1 tbs dried
  • Slice 2 or 3 organic lemons, lay on top of chicken
  • Place a sheet of foil lightly over the chicken and lemons
  • Wash several sweet potatoes (I did about 5, but they are the skinny kind) and prick skins with fork. Lay over top of foil.
  • Cook on low 7-8 hours.

VERDICT:

It actually seemed “done” in about 4 hours.  I happened to be home, so I turned it to “warm” at that point.

The sweet potatoes were incredible–the lemon essence sort of flowed up and infused them, and they were lovely.  And this seems like a method one could use over almost any crockpot meal, assuming of course it’s not too soupy…lay foil over whatever’s being cooked and then lay sweet potatoes (or white ordinary ones, I guess!) on top.

The chicken–nice, but it didn’t bowl me over.  Next time I make it I would change a couple of things: For one thing, I probably would cook it longer, until the chicken really went to the fall-apart stage; it was a little dry.  On the other hand, my daughter liked the chicken and my son liked both the chicken and the sweet potatoes.  So the idea of a dinner I can cook for the family that the family will eat is a fairly appealing concept.

So future edits: Either cooking longer or I would probably want to combine thighs with breasts to get a little more moisture (and unfortunately fat) into the whole thing.  And three lemons was too many; two small or even one large would be lovely, but 3 overpowered.  This would probably be lovely with any variety of fresh herbs too–fresh tarragon in springtime would be nice with the lemons.  I also may try it with oranges instead someday…or maybe limes, with some cumin and a cilantro garnish.  Lots of possibilities here!

(Ooh! Same recipe, but use the “throw 20 garlic cloves into the pot” method, with little yellow potatoes…that would be DELISH!)

So–a success!

*Oh, the Monday misery–long story short, the bolts that hold in the driver side window gave way, the window fell down inside the door, and on its way it apparently took out the motor.  Today I’m really wishing for a basic ordinary crank window, which I don’t think most auto companies even make any more…and it’s going to be horribly expensive, which will hurt much more since it’s not a transmission or the steering system or something obviously crucial to the car’s operation…but on the other hand, it’s not something I can get away with not fixing, since I live in Chicago and it’s November.  After checking with several places, all of who said it would take the whole week to even get the part, I’m having to suck it up and go to the dealer, who can do it quickly and who will give me a loaner car for the duration.  This is where, on the green front, I want to start complaining about living in such a non-walkable area–I’m a mom, I’m employed, and I can’t get everyone (including myself) where I need to go without transportation, and there’s no public transit that can get me where I need to go…and the dealer will charge an arm and a leg, I know it.

However, I did stop at The Farm, our local farmstand that’s closing tomorrow for the winter, while walking home from the first place I took the car, and bought a couple more pie pumpkins at 40 cents a pound…so I can make more of my Crockpot Baked Stuffed Pumpkin with Apples

UPDATE:  Next night for dinner we had chicken quesadillas, with shredded leftover chicken, some of the onions from the bottom of the crockpot, and pepper jack cheese, with a little salsa. (Would have added other veggies, but there wasn’t time to chop a thing.)  Very good!

Posted on November 10, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The chicken would have been less dry (but as you say, have more fat) if you not only used some thighs but also used the stuff with bones still there. Then there is the problem of finding all those little chicken breast bones, but….. hey, more calcium in your diet.
    Wonder what would happen if you left out the chicken altogether and just used veggies (since the chicken was so undistinguished.
    I have 5 pie pumpkins and am gonna try your pumpkin stuff if i can find the crockpot.

  2. What’s up friends, good article and fastidious urging commented here, I am genuinely enjoying by these.

Leave a Reply

