Dreamsicles, take deux.

You may recall a past entry  in which I followed someone else’s recipe for making one’s own dreamsicles, only to find that my misgivings upon reading it were well-founded, and I realized I’d just made my kids some slightly vanilla-flavored orange juice popsicles.

So today I tried again.  Much better, and very easy.

Healthy Dreamsicles

  • Whisk 6oz cup vanilla yogurt (fat content up to you!) till creamy.
  • Whisk in 6 oz. orange juice; drizzle in as you go and it won’t lump.
  • Add 1 tbs. maple syrup, agave nectar, or honey (opt–it’s actually really nice without!) and a little vanilla extract (also opt!) and stir well
  • Pour into popsicle molds, dixie cups with sticks, or whatever makeshift ice pop method you prefer.
  • Freeze and eat.

I admit that I can taste the telltale yogurt tang in there that’s a dead giveaway.  (Bad greenmom I; I never have managed to love yogurt and have developed many ways to disguise it because I know it’s good for me.) But aside from that, this is really close to my memories of the grade school dreamsicle…

Enjoy!

–J

Posted on July 23, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

