Lemon Balm Recipes?

Wow, I had no idea there was so much you could do with Lemon Balm…This site is full of ideas…

http://www.preferredconsumer.com/food_drink/articles/lemon_balm_recipes.html

Lemon balm cheesecake, lemon balm and blueberry cake, and more–and could anything be easier than this?

Lemon Balm Pesto

  • 2 cups fresh lemon balm
  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 3 or 4 cloves garlic

I’ll have to give this a try…since the lemon balm is going berserk in my garden.

–J

P.S. EDIT–I tried making this today; with some parmesan and lots more garlic than the recipe calls for it’s not bad, but there’s a little bitterness in the balm that I find a little off-putting…we’ll see if it mellows out as it sits a while. I wish my basil plants would go as crazy as my lemon balm; that’s pesto I’ll eat.

I guess the thing with the balm is that if there are so many things to make with it that are so lovely (tea, liqueur, who knows what-all), I’m not sure how much energy I’ll put into making things I have to work hard to like, you know?

Posted on July 6, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

