Delicious Asparagus Salad (for people who don’t much love asparagus)

I don’t know what got into me today at the farmstand–I got a pint of lovely local cherries, and right there next to them were bunches of fresh asparagus. So I bought one.

I don’t much like asparagus.  It has always had a sort of icky-pond-scum thing going. Then a few years ago I got my first taste of raw asparagus and realized it was delicious. But whenever I’ve tried to cook it, I’ve tended to overdo and it goes all mooshy again.

But today–OMG, this was delicious!

So here we go:

Asparagus Salad 

Clean and trim about 1/2 lb. fresh asparagus spears. Trim into 2-inch lengths if desired.

Bring a pan or skillet of water to a boil. Drop asparagus pieces into boiling water for about 90 seconds and drain immediately; rinse with cold water to stop cooking process.

Chop 2 scallions, 1 shallot, or a little bit of red onion–whatever you want–and toss in a bowl with the asparagus.

In a separate bowl, mix the following:

  • 1/2 tsp dijon or any high quality mustard
  • 1 tbs balsamic vinaigrette
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbs. olive oil
  • shake each pepper and salt (to taste)

Drizzle over asparagus. Chill if you want, but I didn’t bother. Eat. Enjoy.

A nice change from all those dessert and bread recipes I’ve been posting! This was seriously good.

 

 

Posted on June 27, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love asparagus but I almost never boil it- I roast it on have it on the grill. But this looks really yummy.

  2. We usually broil or grill it; I always worry about it being mushy any other way. But this may be worth a try!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 533 other followers

